Neighbors & Junipers

Oh my gosh, it is Wednesday again! I have to think. The landscapers are coming this morning to cut down the junipers and pines. I have taken ‘before’ pictures and will take the ‘after’ ones when they are done. I know it will look very different and possibly bare for a while, but I am anxious to have a clean palette to work with. Right now, it is all junipers. Yuck!
Did I mention I have great neighbors? What a joy it is when a person can step away for a few minutes and visit with someone friendly. I’ve had great neighbors in the past, but none so close-by and for some reason, the ‘close thing’ is working for me at this time in my life.
My visit to my mother’s house was a little difficult this time. There are signs of her slipping downhill that I would like to ignore – and yet I can’t. After all, she is 94 and it is to be expected – but it still isn’t easy. I don’t want to face what I know is coming. No one ever does.
Mom has had a wonderful, long life. She has enjoyed her four grandchildren and will see her third great-grandchild next month. She is still living in her own home (she’s been there for fifty five years) and staying in your comfort zone is a pretty lucky thing, I’ve come to understand.
I’m thinking of going back to college. I need some web-design expertise, and I would love to take more anthropology classes. “Why not?” I say, “Why not?”
I guess I will take a gander outside and see what is still standing. It is exciting to think that I will be able to plant something soon.
Happy summer everyone!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Neighbors & Junipers

  1. Terry Decker says:

    Have a Happy Summer yourself. Sounds like it’s off to a great start. I’m assuming you are talking about your new home?
    Going back to school is always a good idea. Sounds wonderful.
    Terry

Leave a Reply

