The End is Near

I’m having one of those nights when I know I can’t go to sleep. I didn’t drink any late-in-the-day caffeine. I don’t have anything out of the ordinary going on tomorrow. I just can’t sleep – so – I’m going to write. That should put me out.
Speaking of not being able to sleep. My 5-year-old granddaughter and a friend spent the night at my house recently and had a jammie party. I made popcorn, put on a video for them, and went around the corner to my office. About half way through the movie, my granddaughter comes to me and says, “We have a situation here. She is tired and wants to go to bed, but I’m not tired at all.”
Well, we managed to get through to the end of the movie, and get all the teeth brushed before both girls were out like lights – at exactly the same time. Uncanny – how that worked.
Remember Art Linkletter and his show, “Kids say the darndest things.” Well, he was right – they do. Sometimes, I am flabbergasted that a five year old has already learned how to work the adults so effectively (or at least try) and can say such precocious things. I should be taping her. There is great material here.
The end of another school year is near. Teachers have this look of relief that comes from making it through without killing any students or their own family members. As much as they care and love the kids, pressure gets to the best of them. I salute you all. It is an honorable, necessary, under appreciated profession that deserves more respect, more compensation, and more understanding of its importance. America will not continue to thrive in a global economy without making that transition. Besides – those are our kids! We have to want the best for them because their future is what we will be remembered for.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

