Squirrels

A squirrel raced by on the back-yard fence at break-neck speed. At first, I thought it was some other, much bigger animal, until I realized the fellow was followed closely by two angry birds, one on his tail and the other at his side. My assumption is that he strayed too close to their nest full of cheeping babies. I am sure he got away, but not without a proper scolding and possibly a peck or two. They were truly angry birds. I have little sympathy for squirrels but I was amused by his speed and their close pursuit.
The neighbor stopped by to show me the picture he took earlier in the week of my visitors walking up to my front door. A mallard male and female duck were walking sedately along, looking for a place to nest I suppose. They never rang the bell so I was unaware of their visit. I wondered why there was so much bird ‘poop’ out front. Now I know. I just thought I left the wildlife behind in the Black Forest.
I opened up the box with the garage storage unit that I just bought, and promptly closed it back up. I saw the picture of the tools needed for assembly and that was enough for me to find another project to work on. Another day, perhaps.
…So, another day came and I tackled the storage unit. The manufacturer did a good job with instructions. I got it together by myself, and that sure feels good. In the movie, “Under the Tuscan Sun,” the protagonist tells you to take each room in a new house and make it your own. Well, I do believe I now own the garage, at least 75% of it. The contractor still has his tools and trash out there while we wait for the tile to come in. One day at a time!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

