Some Assembly Required

There is a three letter word that causes more anxiety and trouble in our hearts than we need. Why? That’s it, just three little letters that pose a question we cannot answer. We dwell on it and allow it to drive us crazy. It can take our entire life time to figure out that we don’t need to know the answer. We only need to learn how to deal with the consequences, and dealing with it gets a whole lot easier when we aren’t worried about the why of what befalls us.
Like the expression “let go, let God,” we need to throw that unanswerable question “Why?” up into the wind and let it go.
Over the weekend, I flummoxed my web-site – accidentally – and now I need a geek to rescue, restore, or help me start over. Geez. Then there was the heavy, tall mirror I moved here from the old house. I measured carefully, put in a molly, drilled in the other side, and then tried to hang it by myself. No way. Literally – no way. Thank goodness I have family close now because that wasn’t even easy with two people – but it is hanging now.
Society seems to have drifted into a culture of self torture, aka “some assembly required.” I brought home a storage unit to go over a toilet in the powder room. It took me half a day to put it together, and then another hour to figure out how to anchor it to the wall so it didn’t fall on top of a hapless soul sitting beneath.
The kids had a child’s bed delivered to the house. Seven boxes sitting in the garage waiting to be uncrated; I just hoped they could get both their cars in the garage. I didn’t know where else to have the delivery people put it.
You’d think I would learn, but alas, I just came home with a storage unit for my garage. “Some assembly required” is written on the side. My son-in-law has the same kind and said it would require two people – and be prepared for it to take some time. And so it goes. The challenges of technology, reading instructions written by someone for which English is not their first language, and just – oh you know – ordinary life are what keep us young, I suppose. It’s no wonder I have so many wrinkles.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

