Happy Mother’s Day

I’m getting ready for the big Mother’s Day snowstorm that has been predicted. Yucky weather and cold just when everyone wants to be planting flowers. I brought my eight- year-old geraniums in, disconnected the hose, and covered the exposed sprinkling system pipes. Not the kind of chores one wants to be doing this time of year.
My kids gave me amazing gifts for Mother’s Day. I am so blessed. When you are in the middle of child-rearing you really have no idea how your kids are going to turn out, if you are doing things right (what works for one doesn’t work for the next one), and what outside influences will come along and trip them up despite all your love and prayers.
I am watching a situation with a friend and it is heart-breaking. Tough love is the toughest thing imaginable. I don’t know if I could do it. I fear that in all reality, I am not strong enough to be the parent my friend has to be right now.
What I want to know is: where is the line? You know, the line between support and enabling, the line between love and burying your head in the sand. Guilt is right there to nibble at you and tell you that you aren’t supporting them, aren’t loving them enough, have been a bad parent. How do you not believe their lies? Who doesn’t want to believe their children?
I am blessed and so lucky to have three beautiful, healthy grandchildren. I am blessed to have three wonderful kids who have chosen three great spouses to spend their lives with and grace our family. I am blessed to have incredible friends who have been there for me and with me throughout it all. I am blessed to have a 94 year-old mother who deserves nothing less than a gazillion roses from me – for putting up with me all these years. Thanks Mom and Happy Mother’s Day to you all.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

