Construction Dust

The new countertops are in. The dishwasher works, no leaks. The peg board is up in the garage so I can start to get organized. I am here. I can finally say that I am liking the new house. Why it was such an ordeal – I do not know – but my son-in-law says that I was a ‘basket case.’ He is absolutely right.
I had no idea moving would be so tough – but it had something to do with my head and my heart being on a different page. I made the decision to move, but I had to drag my heart along kicking and screaming all the way. Would more time have helped? I have no idea. By moving when I did, I was at the peak time to rent out my house and I got a great tenant. Waiting might have nixed that.
By moving when I did, I am done with this remodeling process before the fun of summer hits. The house will be functioning when my kids arrive from Florida. I really don’t think moving was going to be easy no matter when I did it. I know it was the letting go of memories and people that has made this move so difficult.
So – here I go, cleaning once again. This time it is my own construction dust and for some reason, that is kind of fun unlike the first time around. Having a working dishwasher and sink is awesome. Being without makes you appreciate our modern conveniences. Like camping – you should do it once in a while just to remember what it is like.
Getting one’s heart and head lined up is never easy. Or if it is – someone needs to teach me that trick because I have struggled with it for a couple of years now. Like all the other tough times in my life, patience is key. I am simply going to outlast the troubles. Would that be my Welsh or my Indian heritage?

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

