Middle School & Scooters

Do you remember your years in Middle School? There were either great years or miserable, depending on your school and circumstances and chance little things that could go wrong and never leave you.

I had both kinds of experience in what we called Junior High. I had the most awesome band teacher who took us to great heights as young musicians. We got to travel and perform before a group where only high school bands were performing. We made a record and back then – it was a real record – the vinyl kind!

I also had at least two embarrassing moments – not soon forgotten by the class bully. I was so shy and sensitive. Forty five years later – they are as sharp and painful as ever.

I just spent three days volunteering in a great middle school where I met student after student in a one-on-one situation. They were so well prepared, so in-tune to the importance of communication, and surrounded by wonderful teachers who have taught them tolerance and given them tools to overcome their inherent weaknesses. Wow. I so wish I had some of that training back in my day.

Sometimes we wish for the good old, simpler days, but I have to say, there are some things we are slowly leaving behind, such as intolerance, bullying, and assumptions about career paths, that are best left behind, far behind. It gives me great hope to see young people like I just met on their way to meet the world. Despite everything we think is wrong in todays world, let me assure you, there are some really good things – and people – coming along too.

One more bright note: two friends bought a scooter and I get to break it in for them! What a hoot (there is an inside joke here) and what fun, buzzing around my new neighborhood. Summer is on its way!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

