Paint and Patience

I should have known better. I asked the salesperson to put tint in my primer for the garage. The pro painter told me what brand of primer to buy that has a sheen effect and I could get away without painting over it in a space like a garage. The salesperson said that wouldn’t work – but you know – I did it anyway. I knew I was in trouble when the salesperson said he couldn’t get that much colorant added so he just guessed on the proportions. I got one of those slow-motion half grins and said, “Ok.”
Well, me and paint; it’s a long story, but probably pretty funny when you add all the stories together. Needless to say, when I opened the 5 gal. bucket, the color was not ‘chai latte’ but rather a dull apricot. Not a color that any self-respecting he-man type is going to want to see in his garage. However, I’m not a he-man and this particular garage (I have two in the new place) is being turned into a party room. So, I painted anyway. After all, it is just primer and I can re-coat with a cheap can of white paint someday.
It’s kind of hard to believe I got a color I love in the bathroom with just one try. I painted the bathroom in the Black Forest at least six times before I got it right. Then there was the crazy colors in the living room and wainscoting that split the walls exactly in half – a big no-no. That one got several coats of paint too, until I finally took down the wainscoting, only to find two different kinds of texture on the walls. It took three coats of texture to fix that. The final product was beautiful though, so patience, I have learned, is a key ingredient for me to make a house just right, eventually.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

