The Legacy of Friendship

I should have taken the time, sometime back, to write a couple of blogs in advance for this week. However, I like writing in real time – so what you get is what you get and you may not get anything come Sunday.

The house is nearly packed. The garage needs swept out but the wind is blowing so hard I don’t dare open the big doors, so that will have to wait. Every where I turn there is more to do but truly, it is almost done. Finally.

I am grateful for the time I had to sort through things. I have a feeling I have a long ways to go in paring down – a job I plan to continue as I unpack in the new house. I do not need all the stuff that accumulated over the last forty years. My mother is 94. Her house is truly daunting. Compared to what I face when she passes, mine was a piece of cake. I have a burning desire not to leave junk for my kids to sort through. My mom has been inspired though. She told me on the phone this week she has started sorting through the papers that accumulated in her dining room, and while it was interesting to look at once again, she has thrown 95% of it away. Whoop! Whoop! Go Mom!

My true friends have shown their colors in the last few weeks. They have helped me rent out my house, clean it, thrown me a going-away party, and let me lean on their shoulders. We’ve had lots of good laughs too. I am so grateful to them and I hope I can live up to that legacy when it is my turn. This is one of those times I am grateful for modern communications. I can instantly and easily keep up with them. After all, what is an adventure if you can’t share it with the ones you love?

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Legacy of Friendship

  1. Cherry Odelberg says:

    What is an adventure if you can’t share it with those you love? – sounds tweetable:)

Leave a Reply

