Why Is Moving So Hard?

Why is moving so hard? Is it grief? My age? No matter how much the pros outweigh the cons, no matter how much everyone is in agreement it is a great decision, no matter how much potential for good there is, leaving behind something you love, nurtured, and made your own by your own sweat is difficult, very difficult. I found consolation when I looked back at all of the places I have lived and realized that I cared deeply about each one. I put sweat equity into each one and I left each one better than I found it.

I planted gardens; I planted thousands of trees; I painted, remodeled, replaced windows, knocked down walls, and built new ones in each home I lived in. As a writer, I think of it as chapters. My book isn’t finished yet, and even though I have written many good chapters, there are still many more for me to write. And so… on to the next chapter.

I spent a lot of time the other day, lining up new utilities at the new house. My mantra that day was “it’s an adventure.” I had to repeat that to myself several times. “It’s an adventure, Barb, hang in there, don’t hang up on this person, you need to get this done.” Bah humbug.

The next big thing will be getting all the address changes done. Again, I say, bah humbug. The weather has turned bah humbug again too. Re-reading all of my bah-humbugs leads me to think you might think I am down and out in my attitude, but the contrary is actually the truth. I look at my long list of things I have already gotten done for the new house and that feels good. I know I will eventually get it all done, and then it is off to the races and the real adventure begins, making the new house into a home full of good memories.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Is Moving So Hard?

  1. It is an adventure my friend. I look with hope and anticipation to the next chapter for you, hugs

Leave a Reply

