Moose Sighting

I’ve just had a great week with family. The only bummer was my youngest couldn’t join us. She is dealing with a health issue following eye surgery. I usually don’t talk about my kids, but this has been scary and frustrating for her, and her mom (me) couldn’t fix it (the worst part of parenting) which frustrates me to no end, as it does most other parents. It doesn’t seem to matter how old they get either, we still want to fix what goes wrong for them.

I came back to packing and finishing up the tax work. We won’t go into how much I am enjoying those two things. I am also still unraveling the old afghan but in desperation, I started the new one so I could see positive progress, not just the de-construction. As a reward for all that hard work, a moose went running through the yard. My guess is, she is probably the same one that went through last fall. I was just as startled this second sighting, but I was on the phone with my daughter so I didn’t even try to take pics. Oh well, it is such a treat to see one, the memory will have to do.

Packing is progressing, although when you look around it is hard to see that progress. You have to open drawers to find the emptiness that is growing. As difficult as parts of this are – just ask my kids about the tears – it has been a good purging of unnecessary, trivial stuff. Then there is the good stuff I don’t use or want or need. I realize how good it makes me feel to give this stuff away to people I know and like. It’s like giving them a little piece of me to remember me by. Because they get to choose, I’m sure no one is taking stuff they don’t like. I think I’ll call it life recycling.

Now I wonder where that moose is today. I think I’ll name her Martha.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

