Ups and Downs

 

The weather is beautiful, a stark and brilliant light reflecting off the snow. The weather crashes and is depressingly somber, grey and cold, all in the same day. I know how tired everyone is with this winter, and yet there is March yet to come. Hang in there.

I am finished with this go-around on my novel, and so I begin the process of thinking about what story to tell next. Not so easy. The hardest part for me is getting the story down on the first go-around. I love the rewriting, the making it better part, but not so much the beginning part.

I am packing too, and I don’t particularly like doing this either. I wonder why I have clung to some of the things I am finding in seldom used drawers. I know they won’t mean a thing to my kids, and yet they define me in some way and so it is hard to throw or give them away.  One of the highlights of my week though, was donating my old movies and jig-saw puzzles to an Assisted Living Center. They were thrilled and appreciative to have something new to watch and work on. Made my day!

Here is an example of something I came across. It is a pretty watercolor of a purple iris and the words of a Chinese proverb: Those who say it cannot be done – should not interrupt the person doing it. I lived through a great example of this as part of a community foundation whose goal was to build a community center. I watched people’s attitude slowly change from “You can’t do this” to “If you do this” to “When you do this.” It took a lot of perseverance for a lot of years from a lot of community members, but it happened. I find it difficult to throw that particular picture away.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

