Out With The Old

A new year means so many things. I am lugging a stack of manila folders from my desk to the file cabinet. My computer is crashing and while I know what I want to replace it with and everything is backed up adequately, I didn’t want to deal with that right now. I for one am glad to kick this year right on down the road and start with a new one.

So here is a partial list of what all broke down or quit while I was away: most inconvenient is the computer crashing, but there is also the ice cube maker motor that seized and quit, the mailbox key that was lost, a Christmas package that has yet to be delivered, and the aphids that hatched and killed the potted rose bush I brought in for the winter.

On the other hand, my pipes did not freeze and we have power which many in the country do not have. I now have three beautiful grandchildren to start the New Year with, and I believe I have found a neighborhood I am comfortable with moving to. It has taken quite a lot of mulling over to decide what I want out of a new place and what I will be happy with. Now, I just have to find it.

Along with mulling over a new place, I have been mulling over the power of time. In some cases, it heals, in some it allows feelings to fade, in others it allows feelings to grow. Time is such a part of the process of maturity and wisdom, yet such an enemy if you are concerned about wrinkles, eyesight, and your teeth.

I have so much to be thankful for, so much to appreciate, and so many people to love who love me back. I hope all of my readers are blessed in 2014 and that we all walk forward in peace and understanding and respect for each other. Happy New Year!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

