Happy Holidays 2013

My son-in-law’s mean chili (his description) is cooking and it smells so good, it is tainting my ability to think of a topic. Our white Christmas is quickly melting but the spirit of the song is alive and well. My granddaughter went through all of her toys and came up with a full bag to donate. I am so proud of her. She is excited to think she will help some other child have toys to play with.

Here comes another year. Wasn’t it just yesterday that we were dreading the change to the millennium and all of the chaos that might ensue? On second thought, that seems like a tame crisis to deal with, much easier than, say, world peace or the deficit. You know my drill – keep everything in perspective.

So now I can smell the apple pie and sugar cookies. Arghh. My son-in-law is ruining any chance I had of resisting temptation and staying on track. Not possible now. Of course, it wasn’t possible at Thanksgiving time either. Oh the joys of the holidays. Gives me plenty to work on in the New Year. Well, that reminds me tax preparation time is coming. Man! Or Mensch! (for my German friends and family if I spelled it correctly)

Now comes the worst week of the year for trash collectors, and also the week that all teachers fall apart and get sick, then nurse themselves back to health just in time to go back to work and face all those students returning with runny noses. After almost six weeks away from home, I don’t care that I need to do the year-end bookkeeping and taxes, I get to sleep in my own bed!

Whatever you celebrate this holiday season, I hope you have joy in your heart as you face the New Year. Wrap your arms around someone you love and pass a couple of smiles around.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

