Party Phobia

Company is coming! For the last treat of my month in Florida, I get to see my niece and her daughter. I haven’t seen her in two years, so this is extra special. My daughter doesn’t have many cousins so I love it when these two get to connect. The fact that my great-niece is in college now – blows me away! They will be here for my grandson’s 4th birthday – also very special – and we get to go see Santa this weekend. What a way to wind up my visit.

It will be difficult to leave my buddy (grandson) behind. Most mornings he comes in my room and crawls up in my bed and we have a little visit before getting up and going downstairs to start our day. He went fishing out back for the first time and boy did he love that. We love to go driving around after dark and see all of the colorful Christmas lights. We made up a new game – bowling dinosaurs – and – you get the point. We have had so many special moments it is hard to recall them all.

Post Party:

Some people have trouble with claustrophobia. Not me. My panic comes when a crowd of people are expected. Parties were never my thing. My kids got a birthday party every other year. I always chose to help at the Halloween party at my kid’s school just to get it over with and not have that worry in front of me for the rest of the school year. Why? Who knows – but if there is an explanation for that feeling of panic that I have to talk myself through for something as simple as a birthday party – I bet all those people who have issues with elevators or heights or spiders would like to know what it is. I feel for you.

The birthday party is over and the Christmas tree is going up. What a day. My grandson says it was a great day and I am glad he thinks so. He wants to open every box so we scrambled to hide the one marked for 12 and up since he is only four. That just tells me I’m not the only one who struggles with gift giving! I can’t believe my next blog will be from Colorado.

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

