Time, Time, Time

Time, time, time…. The baby is over a week old. How can that be? I leave in less than a week? How can that be?

The AWOL sun is finally peeking out from behind the clouds. Diamonds are sparkling on the lake behind the kid’s house. There haven’t been many days like this since I arrived in what they mistakenly named The Sunshine State. I am not complaining, though; all of my friends at home are braving below zero weather and shoveling the fluffy stuff. I don’t have to shovel any of the rain that has fallen here.

Today was baking day. Not an ordinary baking day, not when you have a four-year-old helping you, but certainly a fun baking day. He has mastered breaking eggs and getting them all in the mixing bowl (all possibly includes a little shell), adding the dry ingredients to the bowl rather than the floor, and he has the artists touch when it comes to drawing in flour on the roll-out board for the Christmas cookies. By the way – there is a big, big difference when you bake at zero altitude vs high altitude. That’s a good excuse anyway, (it could have been me forgetting something because my helper distracted me – multi-tasking is a thing of the past), for having to put the zucchini bread back in twice and it still isn’t quite right. At least my daughter’s pumpkin bread turned out awesome.

All the while our baking was happening; the new baby managed three complete outfit changes – not for him but for his parents. He got new duds each time too, but his needing clean clothes wasn’t nearly as funny as his folk’s. At least everyone has a sense of humor about it all. A person forgets just how much laundry there is when you have a newborn in the house.

I won’t have long to endure the empty house syndrome after I return to Colorado. As soon as the laundry is done and my head quits spinning from the altitude change, I will head to my other daughter’s house for Christmas. After that it is tax preparation and spring cleaning. I will be cleaning, sorting and boxing in an effort to prepare for moving and for my next trip. And so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

