Waiting for Baby

Everyone knows the angst of waiting. Parents know the added angst of your child going through pain and wishing you could take it on for them. It’s universal. I’m not a dad, but I assume they feel it just like moms do. Seems, it doesn’t matter how old your children get either.

My grandson and I filled the hours waiting for his new baby brother by baking cookies. My daughter had been trying to get me to bake since I got here two weeks ago and I resisted until now. I found it impossible to deny the request the morning she headed to the hospital. My resistance stemmed from the fact that I love the particular cookie she wanted me to make and I usually find myself eating them until they are all gone. Since I am just recovering from eating all those delectable Thanksgiving dishes, I was trying to keep away from temptation. The fact of the matter is I can resist anything except temptation.

I told you earlier that I was contemplating moving. Oh my goodness; the process of finding a home that I will love as much as the one I am in, is daunting. I have had many moments of giving up, but then I remind myself that a house is just a house and that being near family is worth all the hassle. I found my present home on a spur of the moment decision to go for a drive. I turned up an unknown drive that had a house for sale sign and the rest is history. I was hoping it would be as easy this time, but apparently (just like with clothes shopping) you have to NOT be looking to find exactly what you want. Go figure.

A healthy, perfect little baby boy has been added to our family. What a blessing. The feelings are even more intense for grandchildren than they were when my own children were born. That is hard to believe – but none the less, true. Life changes, goes on, moves forward and faster with each day. I wonder what is next.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

