Preparations

Preparations have begun for a month in Florida and a new grand baby. Not the packing, mind you, but the preparation that comes before the packing. I have addressed all of the Christmas card envelopes, made a list of what to take, another list for what to do before I go, another for those left behind, and finally, I’m trying to think of all the year-end tax stuff that will have to be in the pipe-line when I return. Sheesh!

I have decided NOT to take my knitting project with me, an afghan I have been working on for seven months. Besides the fact it would take up an entire suitcase, I am slightly hesitant about one almost four-year-old grandson’s ability to drastically change the scope of the project in less than one minute. My novel and a new children’s book project will go along for the dull moments between mid-night and 6am.

This is only November and January is already full. What is amusing to me as I think about my schedule, is the fact that even as I get older, I like having plenty to do ahead of me. I used to think it was funny when my dad would complain about too much work and then complain when there wasn’t enough. It was a monthly occurrence. Now I get it. I want to be able to travel, do my own thing, set my own schedule, but I like being busy and I like structure. Like all other facets of life, it comes back to finding my balance.

Lately, I’ve been weighing the pros and cons of moving closer to family. I have made a list and I have to say, being close to family far outweighs most of the negative aspects like packing and moving. Some things that I think are huge considerations, others don’t think a thing of. I tell myself a house is a house is a house and I can find a nice home anywhere. I tell myself this when I look around this beautiful place I have been blessed to live in for the past eight years. It had great potential when we bought it and a lot of work has gone into it, inside and out, since then. It is a home for a family, though, and being here by myself just doesn’t cut it anymore. Decisions, decisions.

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

