Are You Ready?

In six weeks I head for Florida. Wow, the year has flown. Has anyone noticed this one went faster than usual? Honestly – I’m positive it’s going faster. The changes are coming more often too. We used to buy something and that was that – you were set. Now you buy something and in two months, there is an upgrade. In six months you see the new models and in a year you are out of date. It’s done on purpose – I know – I studied the concept in college four decades ago, planned obsolescence. That simple concept started with pantyhose and has made billions for companies ever since.

There are other concepts out there that also keep us from getting our money socked away for retirement or college for the kids. One of them is simple envy. You see others with something and you want it too. It used to be called “keeping up with the Jones’s” but since my maiden name was Jones and I had the most frugal parents in the neighborhood, that name didn’t really work for me. Maybe that’s why I don’t like window shopping. If I can’t have it, I don’t want to know it exists.

My granddaughter is back in pre-school so the battle with the Petri dish of germs, sniffles, coughs and colds has begun. How I remember cranking up the hot water in the shower and sitting in there with a croupy kid for hours on end. What I wouldn’t give to have that little girl in my arms once again – just for a couple hours mind you, but still.

I sprayed wood preservative on all of the outdoor benches and play set. The hoses are drained and put away. The carrots and potatoes have been dug; the garden is tilled for spring. All of that makes me feel good to have accomplished – but it also means that winter is coming! I hope you are ready.

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

