Minnesota Part Four

I drank my coffee and watched the sunrise. The water off the dock was glassy, after several days of choppy water. The sun reflected on the calmness, as if someone carelessly spilled a million diamonds on the water. It is sad to leave something so beautiful.

Last night we spent one final hour on the lake, gliding through a couple of the small, inside bays of Lake Minnetonka. What an incredible feeling. I don’t know how you spell woo-saw, (my daughter taught me this expression), but it absolutely hits you once you are out there. All the cares and worries and frustrations of one’s life simply melt away – going, going, gone somewhere across the big water.  (For those who might be interested: Minne means water; Tonka means big). My cousin, who hasn’t been to heaven yet, says this is better than heaven. I don’t know, but I can guess that it is a close second.

The biggest crane I’ve ever seen sat atop a boat house and watched us pass. Several of the beautiful loons that grace the state were out to bid me farewell. A bald eagle glided overhead, watching for his evening meal of fish far below. The colors in this southern portion of the state are just beginning but the sumac is in full scarlet glory in the rays of the late day sun. I am truly blessed by the wonderful time I’ve had here, my family reunion and the laughter, boating, fishing, and biking I’ve enjoyed.

Now I sit in a busy airport, watching the news about the government shutdown. What an incredibly disappointing contrast to the woods and lakes and wildlife I have been enjoying this past week. My sister accuses me of burying my head in the sand – well – when this is what you see when your head is up – I’m going back down under!

Later: I did make it home and was greeted with two wonderful sights, one was cookies left for me by my neighbor when she brought in the mail (what a dear thing to do) and the other was a moose wandering through my yard just before dark. I didn’t even know there are moose in the Black Forest.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

