Minnesota Cousins

I made it to Minnesota despite the plane being delayed for cleaning bugs off the windshield and then the tower diverting us to a different runway that meant we had to circle three quarters of the way around DIA. Believe me when I tell you, DIA is a big place.

Once I got back on the ground, my cousin and I spent the afternoon with the loons on Lake Minnetonka. We lucked out with great weather; it was calm and the perfect temperature for being on the water. To top the day off, after we got off the lake we got out the street rod and went for a grocery run in a cherry red 1932 Phaeton, no fenders and no top. My hair has been blown every direction and is now pointing straight up. I might add that I noticed all of the other toys in my cousin’s garage go really fast. Boys and their toys!

Why is it that we must go far from home and the everyday to find our center? It must have something to do with the everyday minutiae overpowering our ability to feel ourselves. There are always things to do at home and we tend to them rather than let our soul rise to the surface to get some air. I believe every soul needs a good airing out once in awhile, and I guess that is why I have cousins. By visiting them, I can stop my everyday chores without feeling guilty, find a calm center and breathe. Of course, the laughter, old pictures, fishing, and fast toys help too.

I have lived in Colorado all of my life, from one side to the other, but I have memories of summer vacations in Minnesota, from a tiny child on. This is where my mother’s family lives and in her heart, this is home, despite her living in Colorado for sixty plus years. They are certainly contrasting places. One is flat with lots and lots and lots of lakes and big mosquitoes; one has mountains, plains, and dry air. They both have beautiful fall foliage and good fishing though, so maybe they aren’t that different after all. More to come…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

