Just in Case

This is not the post I intended to post yesterday, nor is it yesterday, so I decided I could save that one for the next one. Clear?  as mud, I know, but I’m allowed to have some fun. I did not have wi-fi the past four days, hence the late posting.

As I was driving across the Continental Divide, I thought about how often I describe the other places I have traveled to since starting this blog, and it occurred to me that I should talk about Colorado too.

The name Colorado means: the color red. Let me tell you folks, I have been driving along the Colorado River for forty plus years, many times each year, and I have never, ever seen it such a dark, brick red at any time before like I saw on this trip through Glenwood Canyon. It was stunning.

Since it isn’t winter yet, I took one of the longer, two-lane routes that wind through the mountains on my way home. It was so worth it. The road between Minturn and Leadville, Colorado, is one of the prettiest stretches of road up there. We are a couple of weeks away from the height of fall color, but the change is starting. I saw many little snippets of that famous, sunny yellow and my favorite, the coral hue in the Aspen trees.

With every good stretch where you are glad to go slow and meander, there are those that make you push the pedal to the max. South Park is one of those places for me. You know the type, where the wind sure knows how to blow, and the grass doesn’t seem to know it’s supposed to grow.

The worst part of the trip for me, was not having a fishing pole. There were so many fishermen in the headwaters of the Arkansas, I was almost dangerous as I drove by wishing I could be out there too. Lesson learned. I already carry my trekking pole and emergency gear. Why not a fishing pole for ‘just in case.’

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

