Re-Frame

Over thirty years ago, I had a friend frame one of the last watercolors my sister painted before she died. Because it was from my sister, I treasured the painting – and still do. Not too long ago, however, I had it re-framed. This time the matting highlighted the colors in the picture and the frame’s width gave it the dimension it needed to stand out as a true piece of art. What a difference!

Life is exactly like a piece of art. Sometimes we need to re-frame. It can be easy to do, on occasion, or a constant work and very difficult to accomplish. I have found that stopping to look at something from another viewpoint is often all I need to do to re-frame. When I find that this and this and that annoy me about something – making myself find three positives about that same something can be all it takes to put it into perspective.

Life is in the little things. Joy and peace and love are found in the little things. Those big moments are wow – yes – but they are fleeting. The little things are what sustain us from day to day. If you are wasting time sweating the little things – you need to re-frame. I believe that everyone – while flawed – is a piece of art that can be appreciated if given the right frame.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that everyone can live with anyone or any job or any place. There is a way, however, to get the most out of one’s circumstances. People say happiness is a choice. Sometimes you find happiness by choosing to move on and sometimes, you might be able to re-frame your perspective and find it right where you are.

One out of two of us (that’s a huge number) is affected directly or indirectly by Alzheimer’s. Please don’t forget the Walk to End Alzheimer’s on September 21, 2013. You can join our team by walking with us or donating to find a cure to this devastating disease. We need your help. Here’s a link to our page on ALZ.org for the walk. Thank you! Barbara

http://act.alz.org/site/TR/Walk/CO-Colorado?pg=team&fr_id=3288&team_id=100493

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Re-Frame

  1. That’s what I need. I need to be reframed so I am a work of art. Loved this philosophical metaphor, Barb.

Leave a Reply

