I’m Back!

The reason I know I am back is because my fingernails have already started breaking and when I curl my hair and use a little hair spray in Colorado, it stays curly all day. In Virginia it was flat as a pancake in an hour.

For some unknown reason, no one came by and stole the zucchini and yellow squash out of my garden while I was gone. Guess what I’m having for dinner? And lunch tomorrow, and dinner…

I am trying to get caught up from being gone; easier said than done. There was enough rain to ignite the weeds into a growing frenzy. The rabbits have decided I am no longer a factor. They do not run away, even when I walk within a few feet in the morning. I had to mow again when I got back, almost unheard of this time of year (I have no lawn sprinklers in the forest) and it is far greener now than in June, nothing like Virginia, mind you, but for Colorado, that is saying something.

My hummingbird population exploded. I have been up here in the Forest for seven years and it has never done this. I have to assume it is because many feeders and flowers were lost in the fire. I don’t mind at all, in fact, it is hard for me not to tarry over breakfast when there is such a delightful zoom-zooming going on right outside the window.

The deer took advantage of my being gone. Several blooms up next to the house have been sampled and there are tiny tracks next to the larger ones so I think some fawns have been coming in too. That is unusual, delightful but unusual.

So here’s my question of the week. I noticed numerous birds bathing (not drinking – just bathing) right before my last rain storm. It was already thundering in the distance and they seemed obsessed with getting cleaned up before the rain hit. Is that normal? Can they not get the same affect from a rain shower that they get in the bath?

September 21, 2013 is the “Walk to End Alzheimer’s” in Colorado Springs. It’s a great cause and a fun day, our team’s third walk. To donate or join our team, please go to our page at this link:

http://act.alz.org/site/TR/Walk/CO-Colorado?pg=team&fr_id=3288&team_id=100493

Thanks Everyone

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

