Take Your Pick

This blog is a day late or three days early – take your pick. I’m traveling later this week and my mind is jumping willy-nilly, backwards: catching up after last week with my granddaughter, and forwards: getting ready for the coming week of being gone. The short of it is that I won’t be blogging this week on Thursday.

Besides visiting family on this adventure, I will be exploring Shenandoah National Park. This is my first Park visit this year and I am pretty excited. Shenandoah will be my twenty-fourth Park since I started this little quest – which means I am not even half-way done but I’m getting close to that mark. I hope the hot weather gives me a break. I don’t do well in heat and I truly hope to do some serious hiking.

On the patio where I am writing this morning, the hummingbirds are squabbling. It seems so silly for two birds to fight over a feeder with four feeder holes in it – but they do. Evidently in nature, bird parents don’t teach their offspring polite behavior. The natural instinct is to protect their territory – and we wonder why countries are constantly having disagreements. I’m sure the birds don’t even have religious considerations.

I’ve been watching the horrifying pollution in China, especially around Beijing which is surrounded by belching coal-fired utility plants. People – whenever you want to bash the EPA and the tree-huggers and anyone else who questions environmental practices – stop and take a look at what happens to a country that doesn’t allow such questions. The Chinese government has sacrificed its people’s welfare to make cheap products for the world. Why? Power – greed – money – again, take your pick. Their people get paid lousy wages and have to wear masks to go outside. Remember those questions help to keep us accountable to everyone – not just our own pocket book.

So here’s the question of the week. If half a planet is ruined by pollution – how long before it affects the other half of the planet?

Have a great week and I’ll keep you posted on my travels.  🙂

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

