Frozen Phone

My kids gave me grief for having a ‘dumb’ phone for so long. Well, I finally succumbed to the pressure and bought a ‘smart’ phone when the top fell completely off my old phone. So, let me ask you a question. Has your wonderful piece of technology – known as a ‘smart’ phone – ever frozen? You know – no matter what you press – it does nothing! nada! zero! zilch!

Since I now keep my calendar on this lovely little thing, as well as phone numbers that are not on my old Rolodex, I am up the creek without it and there is no paddle. Thank goodness for my son-in-law who knows all the geeky tricks. Instant fix. I was lucky this time, however, the thought lingers. I’ve had more than one computer crash over the years and I know how debilitating that can be.

When people ask me for someone’s phone number, I find myself giving them a blank stare. I don’t have numbers memorized anymore, I just press a name on the screen and ‘voila’ the phone rings. Some where in the back of my mind, I think there just might be a downfall to my dependence on this new technology – hidden in the tall grass so to speak. We’ll see. Like all new things, there is a good side – and a bad side. Time will tell.

This will be a short blog and I’ll claim that its because my four year old granddaughter is in charge of my time this week. Its now Grandma camp – my favorite time of the summer. So, enjoy that new technology (like the grandkid’s I-pad) and make sure you have your kids numbers written down somewhere.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

