The Envelope Please

This week I have a twelve year old (7th grade in the fall) staying with me. She comes every year and this is our special girl time because at home, she has four brothers. Here is the truism that came to me when we returned from a walk this evening: The older she gets, the older I get.

There are advantages and disadvantages with having a young person around. In the negative category is how gosh darn fast she walks up hill when we’re out for a hike. On the flip side, one of the nice things is that I can tell her to remember something for me – and she does! She’s old enough now to entertain herself when I have to do something like writing a blog, and old enough for me to teach her our family card game.

She worked very hard today hauling brush and limbs to my slash pile. I have been working on this project for the last three weeks and I can say without a doubt, it is much more fun when you have someone doing it with you. Even better is when it starts to rain, twelve year old’s don’t mind staying out in it and getting wet. I love to do that.

We went to the zoo today and we’re thinking putt-putt golf tomorrow, but of course, we have to get in some shopping, after all, we are girls.

Here is my big news – this weekend I will learn the gender of my coming grand baby. I never knew what any of my kids were going to be – but now that I know that I am going to know – I can’t wait. I don’t know who is worse about waiting, my daughter or me, but my dear son-in-law is lucky I live thousands of miles away. (The envelope is in his pocket.)

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Envelope Please

  1. Congratulations, Barbara! I know the feeling. 🙂

Leave a Reply

