Steel Post Driver

I have no idea how this happened. I went to the garage to clean and ended up in the pantry. Now every time I open the pantry door I am so pleased at the organization, the neat rows, and the clean shelves. It looks great! However, every time I go to the garage, I wonder how I started – out there – and ended up – in here.

Granted, the garage is much bigger and a far more daunting project. I can see “choosing” to do the pantry versus doing the garage but that isn’t the case. After starting out in the garage, I have no idea how I ended up in the house. My subconscious must have gotten scared and taken over. After all – the garage is very big. There are dead Miller moths on the floor and behind things stacked up against the walls. I live on a dirt road so the floor is covered with sand and grit carried in on the car tires. If I open the big doors for good light, the blazing heat from outside comes roaring in. Who would want to clean the garage in the middle of the night? Well – no wonder I ended up in the pantry.

The one thing I didn’t find in the pantry was my steel post driver. If you know what one of those is – you know nobody steals those because they mean work. It should be in the garage but I can’t locate it. It has a spot where it is supposed to be – but it isn’t there. I will have to move everything and that means – well – cleaning the garage. I wonder what closet I’ll end up in next time I try.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Steel Post Driver

  1. This happened to me too — I started in the garage, got interrupted when the disposal leaked and I had to clean out under-sink cabinets, got distracted by moving garage-stuff to more logical places, and ended in the laundry room cabinets and even started on a corner of the basement. Yes, the garage still needs to be finished!

  2. Ha ha ha! Today, I went to the reference boxes behind my piano to find a copy of my elementary PLACE test results, in order to finish up a small job application. I ended up reorganizing four different bookshelves. These things happen in the days following summer solstice. Hope your find your post driver – be sure and wear a mask or a bandana to ward off the dust.

Leave a Reply

