Friends and Tough Choices

I recently reconnected with a classmate and it turns out we have so much in common, such as writing, it is almost spooky, but it really isn’t. Coincidences aside, it is just plain fun to be with her, whether we are hiking or talking or sharing a crazy lunch experience in which my mouth turns into a fire pit of agony. I am still wondering what was in that rice! Here’s to old friends who are still beautiful in more ways than one.

All right – the tough stuff. For those of you who use the Constitution as your argument for wanting zero gun safety restrictions in our country, I have a question. Do you want eight year old children driving cars on our streets and highways? I believe there is a reason they can’t get a driver’s license until they are sixteen – and then not without passing proficiency tests. Why? Isn’t that a restriction on rights? Have we outlawed cars altogether? No. We put reasonable restrictions on driving and uniform rules of the road to keep us all safe. I have to tell you, when I see manufactures marketing to children (pink guns – really?), I want to vomit.

I hate to inform people of the unpopular fact that you can’t have your cake and eat it too; you can’t have it both ways. We cannot have government take care of the ‘big’ problems like Global Climate Change and National Defense and then not want any government at all when it comes to issues like gun safety. People simply don’t do what is best for everyone, they do what is easy for themselves.

Our Constitution began by counting people who weren’t free persons as three/fifths of a person and did not give women the vote. Our forefathers knew, however, that the Constitution would need to change as our country matured – hence the Amendments. The Second Amendment is one of those changes and that doesn’t mean it shouldn’t be improved upon again. Yes, laws are restrictions and take away some of our ability to do exactly as we please but they also provide a framework for civilized society. I don’t want eight year old children driving on I-25. That is already the scariest highway as it is.

I own guns. I want to be able to defend myself. I see both sides of the argument. There is, however, reasonable middle ground. I do agree with my daughters who came up with an idea to curb heinous acts of violence by a swift and sure death to the perpetrator. I’m not talking years of appeals – I’m talking a SWIFT Death penalty – within a month and without appeal. No mitigating circumstances, no insanity plea, just what they gave their victims. They cannot have it both ways.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

