Ratted Out

Thanks for the heart-warming response to my last post “Alone.” Once again I am looking out the window on fresh snow and more expected this week. Hang in there, I promise that soon I will be complaining about hot weather instead of cold. It never fails.

Innocent, four year old children have yet to learn the subtle politics of who you do not want to tattle on. My granddaughter and I got frustrated with the recent spat of snow and cold weather. She was frustrated because she wanted to go outside and play with the sidewalk chalk and bubbles I had brought her for her birthday. I was frustrated from hearing the same question about going outside in the sub-zero weather for the gazillionth time.

We opted to watch a movie. In the course of figuring out which button on which of the kid’s three remotes runs their TV-movie system, a bad word slipped out of my mouth. She didn’t hear it, but I told her I had said a bad word and apologized anyway. In her best teacher voice (her mother is a teacher), she told me I was getting a frowny face on my chart.

Later, at bedtime, my granddaughter got even more frustrated when I said we had to shut the movie off and go to bed. Grandma was simply going too far. When she lay down, after brushing teeth and stories and the whole bed-time routine, she informed me she wasn’t going to sleep until her mom got home. I figured she would zonk out. Ha.

When Mom got home, her four year old informed her that Grandma had said a bad word and gotten a frowny face. We laughed later about my getting tattled on, but it didn’t end there. During breakfast the next morning, she leaned over to her Daddy and told on Grandma again. At this point, I asked how she knew that was a bad word. “That would be her mother,” Daddy quickly replied. Laughter is a great way to start a day.

I am reminded of a sign, “If no one is in the forest, does a tree still make a sound when it falls over?” There is a lesson here.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ratted Out

  1. Ha, Ha, Ha! I have granddaughters – now 5 and 3. Believe me, my son knows many new things about me through the transparency and interpretation of the grandchildren. I like that you share encouragement and laughter through your life experience.

Leave a Reply

