The Territory

Have you ever had one of those shopping trips where things didn’t click from the get-go and you knew it wasn’t going to click and you might as well just go home? I had one of that type of day the other day when I opened a new box of shades I recently ordered. My heart sank as soon as I pulled it out of the box. When I ordered it, I gave the salesperson the width of my window frame and the exact words were, “no ¬†problem.” Well, there is a slight problem and I knew it the moment I looked at the bracket. It is way too wide. The good news is that the company is sending the alternate bracket at no charge.

Next, I opened and unwrapped a new light fixture. The threaded pipe nipple was too short due to my ceiling box being recessed instead of flush (old house). That meant a trip to the nearest big box store that offered them in a variety pack – none of which were long enough – or a package of long ones. I opted for the long ones but that means I need to borrow a hacksaw. I didn’t bother to attempt anything else, instead, I tore that page out of my calendar and took a nap. There is always tomorrow.

My daffodils are blooming. They are so welcome! Three deer walked up to my patio and chomped down on the tulips I planted a few years back. The deer are welcome too. After the first season, I gave up on ever seeing the tulips actually bloom. Their leaves have an extremely popular flavor. (Daffodils are poisonous so they don’t get eaten.) My resident flicker (our version of Woody Woodpecker) started his yearly ritual of attempting to drill through my metal rain gutters. Last year I thought a member of the local high school marching band had moved into the neighborhood and was practicing outside with a snare drum. This year, I’m just loving the company. It comes with the territory.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Territory

  1. Yes, there will be days like that. I like that you philosophically say it goes with the territory. Even better, that you make lemonade from the lemons by writing humorously about it.

Leave a Reply

