Sorry Daffodils

I have changed my mind and I’m posting one day early. My apologies to those of you who look forward to my Monday morning thoughts. It is now sunny – post blizzard – so I was out shoveling snow a little while ago. Underneath that snow are the daffodils I planted last fall. Prior to yesterday’s dumping of the white stuff, they were peaking up their little green stems and trying to decide if it was time to come out of their warm winter digs. Evidently not. The sun’s reflection off my sun-room windows warms my rock garden before anything else – which is why they were up – and I can’t help but get excited for spring and flowers and warm temperatures. Warm, I said, not hot. Warm, like warm rain and that is a fallacy, unless you live someplace like Hawaii or are in the shower with your eyes closed.

I did it. I put up a  new mailbox all by myself despite my lack of grip or muscles or the manufacturer including any screws or bolts with heads large enough to cover the pre-drilled holes in the bottom. There were words during the process, but I did it and I will admit I got kind of puffed up about it too. LOL. Then I went on to remove some ugly old shades and fill the 54 old screw holes (I’m not kidding – I counted) with putty and sand those down in prep for paint.

AND – Novel news. I have decided to turn my action-adventure novel into a trilogy and I have now discovered what a process that is! It is a challenge in the very least and that part I love. The fact that I can incorporate more of my dad’s FBI stories into the three books is really cool. Research. Research. Research.

As I write this, the already fallen snow is swirling outside my window in blasts of tempestuous wind coming from all directions. Spring-time in the Rockies. Sorry daffodils, you’ll have to wait.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

