Gobble Gobble

The Holidays are approaching. Are you ready? I have to say that since we instituted drawing for names with the adults in our family – shopping has gotten much easier! We each have one person to find a nice gift for instead of the whole crew. We have excluded spouses and grandchildren. They are up to the discretion of each couple and me – grandma. The system works saves a lot of postage since we are scattered over several states. I still find it hard to not pick up stocking stuffers for everyone when I see the perfect something for them but then the hard part is remembering where I put it – or that I bought it at all. Maybe my new storage closet can help with that. I should designate one shelf for gifts and then inform my family to remind me to check the shelf periodically.

I believe the reason Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday is because there are no gifts expected, just everyone’s best recipe, naps, and lots of visiting. I never even minded cleaning up afterwards as long as I wasn’t alone in doing it. ( more opportunity for visiting) This year I will be in Missouri for Thanksgiving. I have no idea what to expect so I am going to expect to have a great time. I did have to remind myself that I can cook a turkey on any day that isn’t Thanksgiving after I get back ( I checked – it’s legal ) so that I can make sandwiches and soup – my favorite part. I know I will meet wonderful new people and make wonderful new memories. As with anything in life – it’s all in the attitude.

I wish all of you safe travels and fun shopping. Don’t stuff yourself to oblivion or get run over by the mall mobs. I will be blogging on Monday with a Thanksgiving poem I wrote for the new people in my life – including you – but I won’t be blogging on Thanksgiving Day. I would love to hear your funny stories from the DAY and I will relay mine as well. Gobble Gobble

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gobble Gobble

  1. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving as well, Barbara!

Leave a Reply

