Our Words and The Walk to End Alzheimer’s

Has anyone out there ever gotten to talk enough about themselves or their situation? Have you ever run out of things to say? Is there an issue you care about that you have said enough about?

Affirmation. We all crave it and truthfully, it does a lot for our self-esteem and goes a long way in making our day. However, I would caution all of us to take a breath before we speak. Use that time to make a couple of key decisions. Are you speaking privately (not the Internet which is anything but) to someone you can trust to keep your thoughts to themselves? Are you venting and does the person you are speaking to know it? Everyone needs to vent and everyone who is a friend needs to let their friends vent and most importantly let the words go in one ear and out the other. And finally, are your words going to hurt someone? 

I am the worst example for saying things that don’t come out of my mouth right. If I can write it down, edit it, think about it and revise it a day later, then it seems to come out okay, but off the cuff – my words are not always received with the same connotation that I intended. It seems to happen most with my own family. Why is that? Like the settings on FB, I need to go in and reset the button that turns off my “careful what you say” monitor when I speak with my children. Arghh. 

So, here is some gardening good news. Despite all of my complaining about the critters eating my garden, I got to can tomatoes 2 days ago, and make salsa, and this morning I picked 14 more ripe tomatoes, which means another big batch of salsa for the weekend. The Walk to End Alzheimer’s is this coming weekend, so I will have a houseful. Hint: When the critters take a couple of bites out of a tomato, leave it for them. I threw the first one in the compost and they only went after another one instead of finishing that one off. 

I hope to see you walking this weekend! ps: The Badger Team has raised over $800 this year. Our goal was $500 so this is fantastic. Thanks to all who donated and are supporting the research to beat this devastating disease.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

